Bob-Luitweiler_edited.png
WHO WE ARE

 

INSPIRED BY THOUGHTS OF PEACE
 

Peace, understanding, tolerance, social justice: these are values ​​to which Servas would like to contribute by promoting direct contact and exchange between people from different countries and cultures.

 

Servas was founded in 1949 under the impression of the Second World War and its aftermath by students around Bob Luitweiler in Denmark as the "Open Door System of Work, Study and Travel" who called themselves "Peacebuilders" and soon spread across all continents you give her the name SERVAS, which means "you serve" in Esperanto and is supposed to express the idea of ​​serving a worldwide international understanding.

 

DSC05940.jpg
SERVAS INTERNATIONAL & SERVAS SWITZERLAND

 

Servas International is the international, non-governmental federation of all national Servas groups. It has been the internationally recognized umbrella organization since 1972 and, as a non-governmental organization, has advisory status in the Economic and Social Council of the UN.

 

Servas already existed in Switzerland in the 1950s. However, Servas was not properly anchored until the 1970s: Thanks to the active work of the then National Secretary Denise Waech, the number of hosts rose from 12 to 60 within a short period of time. Since then, Servas Switzerland has slowly but steadily grown to over 200 host families. For a few years now, the number has been between 220 and 240.

 

Servas Switzerland is a member of Servas International and has been an independent association with corresponding statutes since March 24, 2007. The organization of Servas Switzerland lies with the board: all volunteers who are also registered hosts.

SERVAS AND THE UN
 
TOGETHER FOR PEACE
 

Servas has had observer status at the UN since 1973. In New York, Vienna and Geneva there is a team of Servas members who follow the negotiations in different commissions.

 

The Human Rights Council meets in Geneva. In this body, non-governmental organizations recognized by the ECOSOC (Economic and Social Council) can also express themselves actively with written and oral statements on items on the agenda.

 

The Geneva Servas team currently consists of 6 people. René Steimer represents our organization from Switzerland.

Below are two reports to illustrate this work.

Bob-Luitweiler_edited.png
QUI SOMMES-NOUS ?

INSPIRÉ PAR L'IDÉE DE LA PAIX
 

Paix, compréhension, tolérance, justice sociale: ce sont là les valeurs auxquelles Servas s’efforce d’apporter sa contribution sur un plan international, en favorisant le contact entre les êtres humains. 

 

Servas a été fondé en 1949 par un groupe d’étudiants au Danemark et s’est rapidement répandu sur tous les continents. A l’origine, le nom était «Open Door System of Work, Study and Travel». Ensuite le nom a été remplacé par «SERVAS», ce qui en Esperanto veut dire »tu sers» et exprime l’idée de service en tant que contribution à une compréhension entre les peuples du monde entier. 

DSC05940.jpg
SERVAS INTERNATIONAL & SERVAS SUISSE

 

Depuis 1972, Servas International est une organisation qui a son siège en Suisse. Reconnu pour être une « organisation non gouvernementale « (ONG) Servas International a un statut consultatif au Conseil économique et social (ECOSOC) de l’ONU.

En Suisse, Servas existait déjà dans les années 50. Mais c'est seulement dans les années 70 que Servas s'est vraiment implanté: grâce au travail actif de la secrétaire nationale d'alors, Denise Waech. Le nombre d'hôtes a passé très rapidement de 12 à 60. Servas Suisse a continué à se développer et depuis quelques années, le nombre d'hôtes oscille entre 220 et 240.

Servas Suisse est membre de Servas International et, depuis le 24 mars 2007 est une association indépendante avec ses propres statuts et est gérée par un comité. Les membres du comité sont aussi hôtes Servas.

SERVAS ET L'ONU
 
ENSEMBLE POUR LA PAIX
 

Servas et l'ONU ont en commun l'idée de la paix. Servas est reconnu comme organisation non gouvernementale (ONG) de l’ECOSOC et a le statut d’observateur à l’ONU depuis 1973. A New York, Vienne et Genève, des membres Servas ont formé des équipes pour suivre les réunions qui s’y déroulent.


Le Conseil des droits de l’homme se déroule à Genève. Dans ce Conseil, les ONG reconnues par l’ECOSOC (Economic and Social Council) peuvent s'exprimer oralement et/ou par écrit sur des sujets à l’ordre du jour.

A Genève, l'équipe se compose actuellement de 6 personnes. René Steimer y représente la Suisse.

Voici deux témoignages pour illustrer cet genre de travail.